ITIL® Foundation

Course Description

This is the foundation level course for anyone who wants to understand ITIL. This course teaches principles, concepts, functions, roles and processes in IT service management practices. It is based on ITIL 2011 and will prepare participants to write the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management Examination.

Who Should Attend

This course is suitable for:

  • IT professionals involved in any aspect of IT service provisioning; development, execution and management. Your involvement could be in application, infrastructure or support area.
  • Business managers, business process owners and other key stakeholders such as business relationship managers.
  • Individuals who require an understanding of ITIL and how it can be used to enhance quality of IT service management in an organization.

Course Objectives

On completion of this course, participants will be able to understand and describe:

  • Service management as a practice
  • The ITIL service lifecycle
  • Basic principles, models and concepts of service management
  • Selected ITIL processes
  • Selected ITIL roles and functions
  • How ITIL can be used to enhance quality of IT service management in an organization.

Course Outline

1. Introducing ITIL

  • History of ITIL
  • Benefits of adopting ITIL
  • ITIL lifecycle
  • ITIL qualification scheme

2. Service Management as a Practice

  • Concepts and definitions
  • Selected ITIL roles
  • RACI model

3. Service Strategy

  • Introducing service strategy
  • Service strategy concepts and principles
  • Selected service strategy processes

4. Service Design

  • Introducing service design
  • Service design concepts and principles
  • Service design processes

5. Service Transition

  • Introducing service transition
  • Service transition concepts and principles
  • Selected service transition processes

6. Service Operation

  • Introducing service operation
  • Service operation concepts and principles
  • Service operation processes
  • Service operation functions

7. Continual Service Improvement

  • Introducing continual service improvement (CSI)
  • Deming cycle
  • CSI approach
  • The 7-steps improvement process
Course duration 3 days
9.00am – 5.00pm daily
Pre-requisites None for this course
Examination format 60 minutes
40 multiple choice questions
65% pass mark (i.e. 26 out of 40)
Closed book
Examination will be held on the last day of the course.
Certificate ITIL Foundation in IT Service Management
ITIL Credits 2 credit points towards the ITIL Expert Certification